“Two words that started a love affair”

I sat there and watched the clock. I was impatient as usual, but what else can you expect from a seven year old. I looked at my mom.

“Where’s uncle? I don’t want to be late.”

The door bell rang and I ran to the door. He was finally here.

“Let’s go uncle, I don’t want to miss it.”

“We won’t miss it….trust me. Besides you will probably get bored.”

I sat down angrily. My uncle laughed.

“Alright, let’s go.” I jumped and ran outside.

An hour later, we were at our destination….Candlestick Park. I was so excited. I had never been to a baseball game before,  so I couldn’t wait to get inside and take in all this baseball stadium had to offer. I pulled out my ticket and walked in. My nostrils were filled by the smell of hot dogs and hot roasted peanuts. I was in heaven. We walked around a bit and found our seats. The view was incredible. Candlestick park wasn’t considered to be the best looking baseball park, but to me it was beautiful. I unwrapped my hot dog amd heard the two words that would change my life forever.

“Play ball!” The umpire yelled from home plate. I was hooked. I had fallen in love with the sport of baseball. Twenty-five years later, the love affair has grown stronger.

Baseball is romantic. Through all the trials and tribulations I face during the day, I find peace knowing that somewhere in this country, baseball is being played and watched. I look forward to coming home after a long and hard day….and turning on the TV to watch my favorite team do battle on the field. Baseball is not the most exciting sport, but there is a lot of hidden and misunderstood strategy. It is like chess….each pitch sets up the next pitch. The pace of the actual game may be slow, but that is the perfect speed to stop and enjoy the sights and soundsn of the park. You can hear fans heckling players….vendors yelling “hot dog here!”…and the sweet crack of the bat when the batter hits the ball on its screws. I have been a baseball fanatic for 25 years, it has brought me heartache and pure joy. I’ve had romantic relationships end because of it. And swore that I would marry the first girl I found who shared the same love for baseball as I did. I found that girl, but it took a while. I had to convince her to go for other reasons.

“Yeah, everyone says this player is hot…all the girls scream when he comes to bat…”

“Really, I guess I can go to one game with you…” And that was it.

My future wife came for the cute ballplayers but left with her own love affair for the game. And now she can talk baseball with the best of them. We would watch a game during the day…and she would turn to me and say:

“Babe….can you believe this? That was not a strike…this umpire has been so inconsistent. I understand you throw a fastball there…but why not throw a breaking ball there…this hitter can’t hit curveballs.”

“Im sorry babe…but hearing you talk like that…im so turned on right now.”

I brought my daughter to her first game two years ago, and her eyes shared the same joy I felt when I first walked into a baseball stadium. And now she starts her love affair with baseball.

The Daily Post-Word or phrase that picks you up

One thought on ““Two words that started a love affair”

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pick Me Up – Yesssssssss | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

