From “party on” to “party?….no.”

“Let’s get out of here.” I yelled at my friends.

“What?” One of them yelled back.

“Let’s go….it’s lame here. And there are no females here, it’s like Sausagefest 2000…too many dudes.”

I looked at my watch,  2:30 am. My face lit up. Plenty of time to look for single ladies. The rest of the night was a blur. But it ended the same…I woke up dizzy and with a random female. That was my life in the year 2000.

Fourteen years later.

“Let’s get out of here.” I yelled at my wife.

“What? I cant hear you.” My wife yelled while pointing at her ear.

“It’s too crowded and loud. And the little one is having a meltdown. I think she needs a nap.” I looked at my watch…2:30 pm. My face lit up. Plenty of time to get home, cook dinner, and watch TV. But after that, the rest of the night was a blur. Because after all those tasks I fell asleep on the couch at 8:00 pm.

See the difference? As a 21 year old, I didn’t believe in sleep. As a thirty-five year old, I can barely stay awake in a movie theater during an afternoon showing of Rio 2. As a 21 year old, my days started at 1 in the afternoon. As a thirty-five year old, my days start at 5:30 in the morning…weekends included. My five year old kid believes in “no sleep” just like my 21 year old self, and has no problem slapping my head at 5:30 am to ask me for cereal and cartoons. Yay for getting older!

The Daily Press-Night Owl or Early Bird

3 thoughts on “From “party on” to “party?….no.”

  1. Pingback: The Dark Knight.. | Every Smile Has A Reason

  2. Pingback: Just a pretender | Words & Pics

  3. Pingback: The Night Owl Gets the Early Bird (and vice versa) | Susan's Loves, Books, and Coffee

Leave a Reply

