Spring Break 2000 vs. Spring Break 2014

When I turned 21, I knew life would change. Partying would be different….alcohol consumption would be different….women would be different. So the possibilities during spring break were mind-numbing. Destination: Las Vegas. I hopped on an airplane with 11 of my friends and embarked on a journey filled with random hook-ups, drunken taxi riding with strangers, ugly dance moves….and buffets. And Las Vegas did not disappoint. I had never partied like I did that week. Gambling during the day, eating in the afternoon, clubbing at night, bedroom adventures after, and throwing up all the alcohol in the middle of the night. At 21, the world is seen in a different light. All the clubs you couldn’t get in legally…will now let you in legally. Spring break 2000 was crazy. Spring break 2014 is a lot more different. No hopping in a plane to Vegas….instead I hopped in my car to drive my kid to school. No random hook-ups…I just have one hook-up and we have been married for 7 years. No drunk taxi rides…no alcohol at all. But the ugly dancing is there…but its uglier and more offbeat. And yes buffets are still enjoyed…and the extra pounds that came with it. Thats life for me. Instead of gambling all day, I watch Netflix all day. And the only gambling I do is wether to drink milk thats two days past its expiration date. The bedroom adventures are still there but they don’t last as long as they used to…and sometimes they involve me and a bottle of lotion. And if I am up in the middle of the night, its because I’m in the bathroom….because of that expired milk I gambled on earlier. Yes, spring break at 35 is different. But, I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Leave a Reply

