Well Hello Paranoia….Fancy Meeting You Here.

August 21, 2013

Paranoia is an ugly thing. And it rears its ugly head in every relationship. And who do we have to blame for this sudden and constant problem? Social media! Don’t believe me? If you are in a relationship…think back to a few of your fights. How many of them are because of Facebook…or Twitter.. or Instagram?
Does this sound familiar?

Person 1: Hey, did you see that pic I posted?

Person’s significant other: Yeah…I did.

Person 1: That was crazy.. I had to take a pic of it and post it.

Person’s significant other: Yeah…umm who is this person who liked your pic? Her profile pic is….interesting. And I saw you liked a couple of her pics. ..like the one where she is at a beach in a bikini…and sucking a huge popsicle.

Person 1: Uhh…Well I knew her from Science camp in elementary school. And uhh she had braces back then so she had a real problem putting big things in her mouth. So I liked the photo cause I was happy that her dentist helped her with her condition. I was just showing support….for dental hygiene. Which reminds me…we are out of toothpaste….I should go buy some now.

Have you had a fight like that? A simple “like” of a post, pic, or status update can become World War III in a second. I experience a social media fight every 3-4 months. Its like clockwork…but I’ve learned the “signs” that a social media fight is on the horizon.

Sign #1 My significant other starts to talk about the need to exercise more or mentions a new diet.

Sign #2 My significant other starts a discussion about cheating. It could be about a friend who was cheated on or about some random celebrity that was caught cheating. “Did you hear Lamar cheated on Khloe? Isn’t that crazy? How could he do that to her?”

Sign #3 I notice my significant other is on her social media sites more than usual. Why? Because not only is she checking her sites….she is secretly checking your sites. For example, any status updates you have liked, pics on instagram you have liked, any new friends you have on Facebook, or anyone you have tweeted on Twitter.

The social media fight is inevitable. You may have the perfect relationship. Please learn about the “signs.”

Fair warning…I haven’t posted a blog in a while. So the posts will come more rapidly in the next few days…I have a lot to say.

Leave a Reply

